News & Updates

Multiple PRCA World Champions among Calgary Stampede contestants

The Calgary Stampede is proud to announce the rodeo superstars set to once again light up the rodeo arena for Stampede 2021, July 9-18. After an extended absence of rodeo in Canada, top-caliber competition will be back in Calgary, with the Stampede hosting the elite athletes of the sport from both Canada and the United States.

Earlier this month, the federal government gave the Calgary Stampede the go-ahead for a modified quarantine that allows rodeo competitors to safely enter Canada. Many of the biggest names in the sport are excited to make the trip, including a number of world, Canadian and Stampede champions.

“The Calgary Stampede is the most prestigious rodeo of the summer,” PRCA World Champion Tie-down Roper Shane Hanchey said. “Anytime I get to back in the box with the Calgary Stampede roping chutes, it’s a privilege I don’t take for granted. I am excited to be back!”

Joining the Louisiana cowboy is a wealth of American and Canadian talent, including a number of local competitors. Canada will be well represented in the hands of many talented athletes, including Calgary’s own Connor Hamilton, two-time PRCA World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider Zeke Thurston of Big Valley, Alberta, and barrel racer, Val Gillespie from the community of Finnigan, who earned her spot last weekend through the first Calgary Stampede Barrel Racing Qualifier.
“The Calgary Stampede has always been a goal of mine since I was a little girl,” Gillespie said. “I’m really looking forward to running in that arena with the electric crowd and being present in the moment to take it all in.”

The stacked roster also includes Canadian rookies Ryan Shuckburg, Ben Andersen and Beau Cooper. Other fan-favorites include bull riding superstar Daylon Swearingen, reigning PRCA World Champion Tie-down Roper Shad Mayfield and five-time PRCA World Champion Steer Wrestler Luke Branquinho.

The Stampede Rodeo will have the largest purse of any PRCA rodeo this season, with the exception of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. Prize money of $250,000 is up for grabs in each event, with a total of $1.5 million to be won over the 10 days of the Calgary Stampede.

Beginning daily at 1:30 p.m. (Mountain Time), the 2021 Stampede Rodeo is a must-see experience. Tickets for the rodeo are available and include admission into Stampede Park the day of the event. New in 2021 is a VIP, full-service, outdoor experience that will put you in the heart of the action. To book your Stampede Rodeo tickets, VIP Tarmac experience, or to purchase general park admission for days you are not attending the rodeo or Stampede Evening Show, go to

2021 Calgary Stampede Rodeo Contestants

Bareback Riding
Caleb Bennett – Corvallis, MT
Dantan Bertsch – Eastend, SK
Evan Betony – Tonalea, AZ
Taylor Broussard – Estherwood, LA
Richmond Champion – Stevensville, MT
Logan Corbett – Thompsonville, IL
Cole Franks – Clarendon, TX
Mike Fred – Hoyt, KS
Cole Goodine – Carbon, AB
Hunter Green – Bastrop, LA
Connor Hamilton – Calgary, AB
Zach Hibler – Wheeler, TX
Spur Lacasse – Calgary, AB
Kody Lamb – Sherwood Park, AB
Orin Larsen – Inglis, MB
Ky Marshall – Bowden, AB
Tim O’Connell – Zwingle, IA
Jesse Pope – Waverly, KS
Jacob Raine – Mount Pleasant, TN
Michael Solberg – Sunnynook, AB
Anthony Thomas – Houston, TX

Steer Wrestling
Luke Branquinho – Los Alamos, CA
Jesse Brown – Baker City, OR
Cody Cassidy – Donalda, AB
Curtis Cassidy – Donalda, AB
Stephen Culling – Fort St. John, BC
Cody Devers – Balko, OK
Jacob Elder – Alva, OK
Dakota Eldridge – Elko, NV
Joshua Garner – Live Oak, CA
Stockton Graves – Alva, OK
Scott Guenther – Provost, AB
Nick Guy – Sparta, WI
Stetson Jorgensen – Blackfoot, ID
Blake Knowles – Heppner, OR
Eli Lord – Sturgis, SD
Dalton Massey – Hermiston, OR
Tanner Milan – Cochrane, AB
Taz Olson – Prairie City, SD
Tyler Pearson – Louisville, MS
Dylan Schroeder – Waller, TX
Ryan Shuckburg – Innisfail, AB
J.D. Struxness – Milan, MN

Saddle Bronc Riding
Ben Andersen – Rocky Mountain House, AB
Jade Blackwell – Rapid City, SD
Allen Boore – Axtell, UT
Chase Brooks – Deer Lodge, MT
Wyatt Casper – Miami, TX
Logan Cook – Alto, TX
Brody Cress – Hillsdale, WY
Isaac Diaz – Desdemona, TX
Leon Fountain – Socorro, NM
Shorty Garrett – Eagle Butte, SD
Dawson Hay – Wildwood, AB
Lefty Holman – Visalia, CA
Chet Johnson – Douglas, WY
Jacob Kammerer – Philip, SD
Parker Kempfer – Deer Park, FL
Sage Newman – Melstone, MT
Kirk Thomson – Lundbreck, AB
Zeke Thurston – Big Valley, AB
Kolby Wanchuk – Sherwood Park, AB
Jake Watson – Hudson’s Hope, BC

Tie-down Roping
Beau Cooper – Stettler, AB
Marcos Costa – Menard, TX
Cody Craig – Wendell, ID
Erik Dublanko – Thorsby, AB
Morgan Grant – Didsbury, AB
Shane Hanchey – Sulphur, LA
Kincade Henry – Mount Pleasant, TX
Hunter Herrin – Apache, OK
Westyn Hughes – Caldwell, TX
Ryan Jarrett – Comanche, OK
Kyle Lucas – Carstairs, AB
Shad Mayfield – Clovis, NM
Haven Meged – Miles City, MT
Jake Pratt – Ellensburg, WA
Ben Robinson – Red Deer County, AB
Clint Robinson – Spanish Fork, UT
Blair Smith – Wimborne, AB
Justin Smith – Leesville, LA
Ryle Smith – Oakdale, CA
Cory Solomon – Prairie View, TX
Marty Yates – Stephenville, TX
Trey Young – Dupree, SD

Barrel Racing
Brittney Barnett – Stephenville, TX
Lynette Brodoway – Brooks, AB
Lacey Caldas – Exshaw, AB
Toni Dixon – Foothills, AB
Raylee Edwards – Lethbridge County, AB
Justine Elliot – Lacombe, AB
Angela Ganter – Abilene, TX
Jackie Ganter – Abilene, TX
Val Gillespie – Finnigan, AB
Wenda Johnson – Pawhuska, OK
Lindsay Kruse – Fromberg, MT
Vanessa Leggett – Kamloops, BC
Taylor Manning – Yellowhead County, AB
Celeste Montpellier – Stettler, AB
Bertina Olafson – Hudson Bay, SK
Jenna O’Reilly – Millarville, AB
Carman Pozzobon – Aldergrove, BC
Stacey Ruzicka – Bluffton, AB
Jennifer Sharp – Richards, TX
Shelby Spielman – Dalhart, TX
Nikki Vanderlee – Brooks, AB

Bull Riding
Tim Bingham – Howell, UT
Tyler Bingham – Howell, UT
Dakota Buttar – Kindersley, SK
Riker Carter – Stone, ID
Cody Coverchuk – Meadow Lake, SK
Lon Danley – Tularosa, NM
Edgar Durazo – Carsland, AB
Cole Fischer – Jefferson City, MO
Josh Frost – Randlett, UT
Denton Fugate – Niangua, MO
Garrett Green – Meeting Creek, AB
Jordan Hansen – Amisk, AB
Zane Lambert – Ponoka, AB
Gavin Michel – Sulphur Springs, TX
JC Mortensen – Paulden, AZ
Laramie Mosley – Palestine, TX
Matthew Palmer – Claremore, OK
Jared Parsonage – Maple Creek, SK
Shane Proctor – Grand Coulee, WA
Daylon Swearingen – Rochelle, GA
Eli Vastbinder – Union Grove, NC

About the Calgary Stampede
The Calgary Stampede celebrates the people, the animals, the land, the traditions and the values that make up the unique spirit of the west. The Calgary Stampede contributes to the quality of life in Calgary and southern Alberta through our world-renowned Stampede, year-round facilities, western events and several youth and agriculture programs. Exemplifying the theme We’re Greatest Together, we are a volunteer-supported, not-for-profit community organization that preserves and celebrates our western heritage, cultures and community spirit. All revenue is reinvested into Calgary Stampede 2021 programs and facilities.